Fadel, Nazari, Scully nominated for Walker Cup


Seniors Mark Fadel, Arezoo Nazari and Sara Scully were announced as the three Walker Cup Award finalists for the class of 2013 in an email to faculty chairs and directors on Monday afternoon.
The Walker Cup Award, "goes to the graduating senior who has done the most to advance the interests of DePauw," said Associate Dean of Students, Cara Satchell.
The Chair of Classical Studies, Rebecca Schindle, has distributed the three finalists' resumés and biographies to faculty chairs via email and asked them to talk to members of their department while preparing to vote, said Satchell. The results of the vote by the committee of faculty chairs and directors will be given as recommendation to the president.
The vote by faculty chairs carries a significant amount of weight with the president's award decision.
According to Satchell, there has not been a year in recent memory when the president did not accept the Walker Cup recipient recommendation made by the committee of faculty chairs.
The Walker Cup recipient will be announced on April 29 at the Academic Awards Convocation.