Committee conducting search to replace Casey officially named


The Presidential Search Committee hopes to announce DePauw University’s newest president early in the spring of 2016.

As of Monday afternoon, all members of the 18 person committee chaired by Kathy Patterson Vrabeck ’85 have officially been named. There are four categories represented: alumni trustees, faculty members, administration and students.

Two individuals were chosen to represent the voices of the over 2,200 students that comprise the DePauw student body. Student Body President, Craig Carter ’16 and Vice President of Academic Affairs for Student Government, Perrin Duncan ’17 were selected.

“I felt very honored when I was chosen to serve on the Presidential Search Committee,” Duncan said in an email Monday afternoon. “I love DePauw dearly and President Casey has played a major role in making my experience at DePauw so positive.”

The alumni trustees span five decades and represent three past board chairs as well as the current chair. These 10 members are: Vrabeck, Chair of DePauw’s Board of Trustees Marshall Reavis ’84, Susan Ansel ’82, Justin Christian ’95, Newton Crenshaw ’85, R. David Hoover ’67, Kyle Lanham ’79, Doug Smith ’85, Tim Ubben ’58 and Sarah Reese Wallace ’76, who served on the search committee eight years ago when President Brian Casey was hired.

“Faculty members, who were selected by the Faculty Priorities and Governance Committee from a pool of 43 nominees, represent a balance of disciplines and experience with the University,” wrote Kathy Vrabeck in an email to the DePauw community Monday afternoon.

These four individuals, as previously reported by The DePauw, are: Howard Brooks, professor of physics and astronomy, Jeff Kenney, professor of religious studies, Caroline Smith, professor of music and Karin Wimbley, assistant professor of English

Two members of the administration, Vice President of Admission and Financial Aid Cindy Babington and Vice President of Finance and Administration Brad Kelsheimer, have also been appointed.

Isaacson, Miller, a national executive search firm, has been selected to assist in the process of finding the next university president.

A webpage, dedicated to the presidential search, has been launched to keep individuals updated on the search as well as submit information for the committee’s consideration.

**Carter was unable to respond to an email sent late Monday afternoon on deadline. Check out Friday’s issue for a more comprehensive look at the now-assembled committee.